Who we are

About the P&O Cruises Peninsular Club

P&O Cruises can trace its roots back as far as 1837 when the Peninsular Steam Navigation Company was awarded the lucrative Admiralty contract to carry mail to the Iberian Peninsula and beyond. As the company's itineraries broadened, its name changed to The Peninsular and Oriental Steam Navigation Company hence 'P&O'.

We've adopted the name 'Peninsular' for our loyalty club in celebration of this long heritage. As trusted cruise experts we now have a fleet of seven ships offering holidays tailored to British tastes combining genuine service, a sense of occasion and attention to detail, ensuring our passengers have the holiday of a lifetime, every time they travel with us.

We are honoured to welcome so many loyal passengers back on board time and again and so we are delighted to be able to reward this loyalty through our P&O Cruises Peninsular Club.


How the club works

The P&O Cruises Peninsular Club consists of six different levels, known as tiers. Entry into each tier requires a minimum number of nights spent on board a P&O Cruises ship, plus at the highest levels, a degree of recency and frequency of cruising. As the number of nights you spend on board increases, so too does your tier status.


The tiers

For each night you spend on board a P&O Cruises ship, you'll be awarded 10 loyalty points applied at the end of your cruise. Once you have earned a minimum of 150 points you will automatically become a member of the P&O Cruises Peninsular Club.

The tiers are named after oceans and seas of the world, each of them cruised by ships from the P&O Cruises fleet. They are arranged in order of size with the smallest sea in the scheme, the 'Ligurian Sea', being the name for the most exclusive tier.

The tiers are based on the number of nights spent on board which are then converted into points, with the Caribbean tier being the highest confirmed tier. The points required per tier are set as follows:

  • Pacific 150 - 500 points
  • Atlantic 501 - 1000 points
  • Mediterranean 1001 - 2000 points
  • Caribbean 2001 + points


The Baltic and Ligurian Tiers

In addition to the first four tiers, there are two further levels exclusively for passengers who have accumulated 2501 points or more and have cruised frequently in the 3 years preceding the start of your next cruise.

Baltic tier requires 2501 points plus 80-200 nights spent on board within the 3 years preceding the start of your next cruise.

Ligurian tier requires 2501 points plus 201 or more nights spent on board within the 3 years preceding the start of your next cruise.


In order to keep membership of the Baltic and Ligurian tiers exclusive, membership is only ever granted on a ‘cruise by cruise’ basis. So when you become a member of one of these tiers, in order to remain so for your next cruise, you must have spent at least 80 or 201 nights on board over the three year period prior to that cruise. If you do not maintain this level of cruising you will resume Caribbean tier status and its associated benefits. 

For more information on P&O Cruises Peninsular Club, go to www.pocruises.co.uk/peninsularclub.

And if you'd like to know more about the benefits of joining, click here.